Questions regarding the compilation of VASP on various platforms: hardware, compilers and libraries, etc.
Moderators: Global Moderator, Moderator
-
chungyulyoo
- Newbie

- Posts: 3
- Joined: Tue May 20, 2025 2:16 pm
#1
Post
by chungyulyoo » Thu May 22, 2025 3:00 am
Hi,
I just installed VASP6.4.3 and run the validation tests, but it was not finished yet. (The manual mentioned that it will take about 5 hr.)
My computer specification is as follows
CPU: XeonE-2278G (16 core)
RAM: 8GB
Could someone check the log file and suggest me to resolve this issue?
Thank you for your help in advance.
Chung-Yul
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
-
henrique_miranda
- Global Moderator

- Posts: 531
- Joined: Mon Nov 04, 2019 12:41 pm
-
Contact:
#2
Post
by henrique_miranda » Thu May 22, 2025 6:46 am
The testsuite.log contains the output of only 3 tests, if this took more than 18hr then something is seriously wrong with your compilation or setup.
Code: Select all
$ grep CASE testsuite.log
CASE: andersen_nve
CASE: andersen_nve
CASE: andersen_nve_constrain_fixed
CASE: andersen_nve_constrain_fixed
CASE: andersen_nve_constrain_fixed_RPR
CASE: andersen_nve_constrain_fixed_RPR
Let's try to figure it out together
Maybe you can share the OUTCAR for the fisrt test by looking for "Total CPU time used" in tests/andersen_nve/OUTCAR
On my laptop it takes:
Note you can select to run only this test:
Code: Select all
$ cd testsuite
$ VASP_TESTSUITE_TESTS="andersen_nve" ./runtest
-
chungyulyoo
- Newbie

- Posts: 3
- Joined: Tue May 20, 2025 2:16 pm
#3
Post
by chungyulyoo » Thu May 22, 2025 6:51 am
Hi,
Thank you for your kind response. Here is the OUTCAR file of the first run.
I found
Total CPU time used (sec): 127353.156
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
-
henrique_miranda
- Global Moderator

- Posts: 531
- Joined: Mon Nov 04, 2019 12:41 pm
-
Contact:
#4
Post
by henrique_miranda » Thu May 22, 2025 8:08 am
Ok, I think the problem is:
Code: Select all
running 4 mpi-ranks, with 16 threads/rank, on 1 nodes
Each MPI rank is spawning 16 openmp threads so you are getting all the overhead an no benefit because your machine does not have 64 threads.
Perhaps you have OMP_NUM_THREADS=16 somewhere in your environment variables?
You can check this with
-
chungyulyoo
- Newbie

- Posts: 3
- Joined: Tue May 20, 2025 2:16 pm
#5
Post
by chungyulyoo » Fri May 23, 2025 3:33 am
Hi Henrique,
I have solved the problem by updating .bashrc file of root using "export OMP_NUM_THREADS=1"
Thank you for your help.